

# Senate Room A General Assembly Building Richmond, Virginia

## Wednesday, May 22, 2013 10:00 A.M.

# AGENDA: WORK SESSION

- 1. Call to order—The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman
- 2. Introductions and remarks—Chairman
- 3. Subcommittee Reports:

## Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Subcommittee

Sesquicentennial of the Emancipation Proclamation Commemoration

- Student Artwork Contest -- Dr. Ronald L. Carey, Work Group Chairwoman
- Pre-Concert Reception -- Brenda H. Edwards, Division of Legislative Services
- Concert
  -- Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan, Vice Chairwoman
  Mr. David LL. Fick. Executive Director, Richmond Symphon
  - -- Mr. David J.L. Fisk, Executive Director, Richmond Symphony
- Open Forums and Grant Applications -- Ms. Autumn Barrett, Assistant Director, Department of Historical Biology, The College of William and Mary
- Revolutions: Songs of Social Change, 1860–65 and 1960–65 -- Dr. Lauranett Lee, Curator of African American History, Virginia Historical Society
- Efficacy of CD Production and Release Party -- Dr. Kirk Schroder, Commission Member
- Unveiling of African American Legislators Project Commemorative Plaques -- Brenda H. Edwards, Division of Legislative Services
- Status of Emancipation Proclamation and Freedom Monument -- Brenda H. Edwards, Division of Legislative Services

# **Public School Closings Subcommittee**

Massive Resistance Oral History Project, Phase I

-- Dr. Shawn O. Utsey, Director, VCU Department of African American Studies Discussion: Racial and Socioeconomic Isolation in Public Schools

- Organization of Roundtable of Division Superintendents
- Survey of Other States
- NAACP Education and Legal Defense Fund Efforts

# Partnership and Expenditure Review Subcommittee

**Report of GF and SF Accounts** 

-- Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Subcommittee Chairman

- 4. Assignments
  - African American Legislators Project Work Group: 2013 Commemorative Plaques
  - 2014 Reconstruction Amendments Symposium Work Group
  - CD Production Work Group

- 5. Directions to Staff
- 6. Other Business
- 7. Next Meeting Date
- 8. Adjournment

# MLK COMMISSION MEMBERS

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, *Chairman* Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan, *Vice Chairwoman* Delegate C. Matt Fariss Delegate Salvatore R. Iaquinto Senator Mamie E. Locke Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. Senator William M. Stanley, Jr. Delegate Roslyn C. Tyler Delegate Onzlee Ware Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr. Reverend Ricardo L. Brown Dr. Ronald L. Carey The Honorable William C. Cleveland LTC (R) Wesley H. Motley, Jr. SAI Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire Dr. Robert C. Vaughan Mr. Charles Withers Mrs. Juanita Owens Wyatt

#### Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Subcommittee

Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, *Chairman* The Honorable Jennifer L. McClellan, *Vice Chairwoman* Ms. Autumn Barrett Ms. Elizabeth S. Barton The Honorable Viola O. Baskerville Dr. Michael L. Blakey Ms. Lynne M. Bland Mr. Jeffry Burden The Honorable William C. Cleveland Ms. Veronica A. Davis Dr. Theodore C. DeLaney Ms. Ana Edwards Dr. Gregg D. Kimball Dr. Lauranett L. Lee Dr. John J. McGlennon The Honorable Delores L. McQuinn The Honorable Brian Moore Dr. Phillip Stone Dr. Andrew H. Talkov Dr. Shawn O. Utsey Mr. Charles Withers

# Music Work Group Education Subcommittee Members

Dr. Ronald L. Carey, *Chairman* Ms. Betsy Barton Ms. Valerie Braxton-Williams Dr. Lauranett Lee Ms. Aimee Halbruner Dr. Phillip Stone

#### **Music Work Group Members**

Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan, *Chairwoman* Dr. Willis L. Barnett Ms. Betsy Barton Valerie Braxton-Williams Reverend Ricardo L. Brown The Honorable Viola Baskerville Mr. Jeffrey Burden Dr. Lisa Edwards-Burrs Dr. Ronald L. Carey The Honorable C. Matthew Fariss Mr. David J.L. Fisk Dr. Lauranett Lee The Honorable Frank M. Ruff, Jr. Kirk T. Schroder, J.D., Ph.D. Mr. Steven Smith Dr. Phillip Stone

#### **Ex Officio Members**

Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, *Chairman, Abraham Lincoln Subcommittee* Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, *MLK Commission Chairman* 

### **STAFF**

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Mrs. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant Mrs. Caryl S. Harris, Fiscal Officer Division of Legislative Services

Mr. D. Hobie Lehman Coordinator of Committee Operations and Sergeant-at-Arms of the Senate Senate of Virginia