# Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Commission



The Nance Room Dorrill Dining Hall Longwood University 201 High Street Farmville, Virginia

Monday, October 3, 2011 10:30 A.M.

#### **AGENDA: WORK SESSION**

- 1. **Call to order**—The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III, *Chairman*
- 2. Introduction of Commission, Subcommittee members and preliminary remarks—Chairman
- 3. Staff Briefing

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Division of Legislative Services

- 4. Partnership and Expenditure Review Subcommittee—Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Chairman
  - Report on Expenditures
  - Discussion and Recommendations on Future Collaborations and Expenses
- 5. Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Subcommittee—Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, Chairman Sesquicentennial of the Emancipation Proclamation
  - Status of NEH Grant Request: Remembering Slavery, Resistance, Freedom (Slave Burial Grounds/African American Cemetery Project)

Dr. Michael Blakey, Director, W&M Institute for Historical Biology

African American Legislators Project and Exhibit

The Honorable Viola O. Baskerville

Preservation of Lincoln Homestead

Dr. Philip Stone, President, The Lincoln Society of Virginia (statement in meeting folder)

- Emancipation Proclamation Musical Tribute: Richmond Symphony/MLK Commission Brenda H. Edwards, Division of Legislative Services
- 6. Special Subcommittee on the 50th Anniversary of Public School Closings—Chairman Marsh
  - VCU Massive Resistance Oral History Project

Dr. Shawn O. Utsey, Chairman, Department of African American Studies, Virginia Commonwealth University

- Reception Announcement: VCU/MLK Oral History of Massive Resistance Project
  Brenda H. Edwards, Division of Legislative Services
- 7. Community Learning Week

Reverend Ricardo L. Brown, MLK Commission Member

- 8. Upcoming Events
  - "African Americans and the Civil War," Annual Conference of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History—Richmond Marriott, October 5-9, 2011
  - Martin Luther King, Jr. National Memorial Dedication—October 16, 2011, Washington, D.C.
  - African American Teaching Fellows' Lt. Col. John E. Baker Legacy Dinner—October 28, 2011, Charlottesville
- Directions to Staff
- Other Business
- 11. Next Meeting Date
- 12. Site Visits

11:30 A. M. - 12:15 P. M.—Lunch and Tour of Robert Russa Moton Museum 12:15 P.M. - 12:45 P. M.—Driving and Walking Tour of Historical Sites 12:45 P. M. - 1:15 P. M.—Fuqua School 1:15 P. M. - 3:00 P. M.—Hampden-Sydney College 3:00 P. M. - 5:00 P. M. —Town Hall

# Special Subcommittee on the 50th Anniversary of Public School Closings in Virginia



www.loc.gov/exhibits/brown/images/br0057Cs.lpg

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Commission Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Committee

## TOWN HALL MEETING

Massive Resistance: Learning from the Past, Living the Present, Taking Responsibility for the Future

Prince Edward County High School 35 Eagle Drive Farmville, Virginia

Monday, October 3, 2011 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Dr. Larissa Smith Fergeson, *Moderator*Associate Professor of History
Longwood University

- 1. Call to order—The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman
- 2. Welcome
  - Mr. Russell Dove, Chairman, Prince Edward County School Board
  - Other Dignitaries
- 4. Purpose of the Town Hall and Introduction of Moderator—Chairman Marsh
- 5. Trailer: "They Closed Our Schools"—Mr. Brian Grogan, Producer, Mercy Seat Films, California
- 6. Town Hall Rules—Dr. Larissa Smith Fergeson, Moderator
  - Panel of Invited Speakers: The Prince Edward County Story
    - Ms. Dorothy Holcomb, former student; Robert Russa Moton Museum Board Member Richmond, VA
    - Ms. Eunice Carwile, former student; faculty, Hampden-Sydney College Farmville, VA
    - Rev. J. Samuel Williams, participant in 1951 student strike Farmville, VA
  - ☐ The *Brown* Scholarship Program: Q&A
    - The Honorable Rosalyn R. Dance, Committee Chairwoman
    - Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Committee and Staff
  - □ Public Comment and Dialogue (includes pre-registered and other speakers, and attendees)
- 7. **Closing Remarks**—Chairman Marsh
- 8. Adjournment

#### MLK COMMISSION MEMBERS

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman

Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan, Vice Chairwoman

Senator Harry B. Blevins Delegate James E. Edmunds, II Delegate Salvatore R. Iaquinto Senator Mamie E. Locke Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. Delegate Roslyn C. Tyler

Delegate Onzlee Ware

Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr. Reverend Ricardo L. Brown

Dr. Ronald L. Carey

The Honorable William C. Cleveland Lt. Col. Ret. Wesley H. Motley, Jr. Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire Dr. Robert C. Vaughan Mr. Charles Withers Mrs. Juanita Owens Wyatt

#### Partnership and Expenditure Review Subcommittee

Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire, Chairman

Senator Mamie E. Locke Lt. Col. Ret. Wesley H. Motley, Jr. Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III Mrs. Juanita Owens Wyatt

#### Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Subcommittee

Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III, Chairman

The Honorable Jennifer L. McClellan, *Vice Chairwoman* 

Ms. Autumn Barrett
Ms. Elizabeth S. Barton

The Honorable Viola O. Baskerville

Dr. Michael L. Blakey Ms. Lynne M. Bland Mr. Jeffry Burden

The Honorable William C. Cleveland

Ms. Veronica A. Davis Dr. William C. Davis Dr. Theodore C. DeLaney The Honorable Mark Earley Ms. Ana Edwards Dr. Lauranett L. Lee Dr. John J. McGlennon

The Honorable Delores L. McQuinn The Honorable Brian Moore Mr. James A. Percoco Dr. Phillip Stone Dr. Beverly Thurston Dr. Shawn O. Utsey Mr. Charles Withers

#### Special Subcommittee on the 50th Anniversary of Public School Closings in Virginia

#### MLK Commission and Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Committee

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, Chairman

Delegate Rosalyn R. Dance,  $\it Vice\ Chairwoman$ 

Delegate Watkins M. Abbitt Senator Harry B. Blevins Delegate Salvatore R. laquinto

Senator Mamie E. Locke, Steering Committee Chairwoman

Senator L. Louise Lucas Delegate Jennifer L. McClellan Delegate Joseph D. Morrissey Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr. The Honorable William C. Cleveland Dr. Kirk T. Schroder, Esquire

Dr. Robert C. Vaughan, III Dr. Patricia Johnson Brown Dr. Luis C. Justis

Ms. Irene F. Logan

#### Nonlegislative Citizen Members

Dr. Rosa S. Atkins

Ms. Betsy S. Barton Dr. Kitty J. Boitnott Ms. Christonya B. Brown

Mr. Henry W. Cabarrus, Jr.

Mr. Peter Carr Ms. Ann W. Carter

Mr. Henry L. Chambers, Jr.

Mr. Brian Daugherity Mr. Breck Daughtrey Mr. Patrick Farris

Dr. Vonita Foster Mr. Brian Grogan

Mr. Andrew I. Heidelberg

Mrs. Barbara N. Howard
Dr. Wilbert L. Jenkins
Dr. Deneese L. Jones
Mr. Brian Lee
Mr. Donald E. Martin
Ms. Phyllistine Ward Mosley
Ms. Ruth S. Murphy
The Honorable Dave Norris
Dr. K. David Smith
Dr. Beverly Thurston
Mr. Michael A. Turner
Mr. Lacy B. Ward, Jr.
Mrs. Valerie Braxton Williams

Mr. Frank Wilson

### **STAFF**

Mrs. Brenda H. Edwards, Senior Research Associate Mrs. Gwendolyn L. Foley, Senior Operations Staff Assistant Division of Legislative Services

Ms. Christine McCormick

Assistant Clerk, House Committee Operations Virginia House of Delegates

Mr. D. Hobie Lehman

Assistant Coordinator of Committee Operations and

Sergeant-at-Arms of the Senate

Senate of Virginia